Things – Homemade Lemonade

While I get this blog going I want to start some regular features, including Things to be posted on Fridays. This will be an assortment of . . . well . . . things that interest me and that I want to share.

IMG_0613

To start it off let’s talk lemons. With their bright colour, amazing smell, and tart taste what’s not to love about lemons? To me this citrus fruit equals summer. Why, because I love to drink lemonade during those hot summer days where nothing else quite quenches my thirst. I thought I would share my recipe with you.

IMG_0526

I usually buy a bag of lemons and juice them all at once. I have a hand-me-down electric juicer that makes this task a bit easier. When I am done juicing, I pour the lemon juice into a mason jar and store that in the fridge where it will keep for about a week.  The only other ingredient you need is a sweetener of your choice. I tend to go with maple syrup, but you could also use honey, sugar, or a simple syrup.

Single serving (all measurements are approximate)

3 tablespoons of lemon juice

1 tablespoon of maple syrup

Water to fill the large glass of your choice

Optional: Ice

Large pitcher (all measurements are approximate)

1 cup of lemon juice

1/3 cup of maple syrup

Water to fill the pitcher of your choice

Optional: Ice

*As you can see there are no fast rules about making lemonade. You might prefer it more tart or more sweet, just experiment and have fun with this delicious taste of summer. I have made variations of lemonade using a homemade mint simple syrup and have even added different fruit to the mix for a very tasty raspberry lemonade.

Leave a Reply

