Simple Things – Storing Bread

P1060604

I bake my own bread, as I mentioned here. While nothing beats a fresh loaf, I find that it takes me too long to get through it all. What’s a gal to do? To combat possible wastage, I tend to split the dough and bake two smaller loaves. With the second loaf I pre-slice it before throwing it into the freezer. I let the loaf cool before slicing it and I allow the sliced pieces to cool (and dry a bit) before re-assembling the loaf back together. This works well for me. Because I dried the pieces a bit I am able to easily break away one or two pieces for toast as needed. A simple way of making my bread last longer.

Leave a Reply

